top of page
  • Writer's pictureMachine Knitting Showcase

You're never too old to play with Dolls

A couple of years ago I had the fancy to knit some dolls clothes on the machine. I've not knitted any dolly stuff since I stopped hand knitting quite a long time ago so I decided to take the plunge.


Well, you can't knit clothes for dolls without actually having one to try them on can you?, so I ventured onto the great Bay of E and with a few accidental slips of my finger (greasy keyboard) I purchased a Designafriend doll. This is a lovely 18 inch doll with rooted blonde hair and the most beautiful face. She arrived a bit scruffy and in desperate need of a hair do and with absolutely no clothes at all 😮 I proceeded to knit a roll neck jumper and a pair of trousers to cover her modesty and of course she had to have shoes so I went on a little bijou shopping journey.

Three pairs of boots, 2 pairs of leggings, an umbrella, sports bag and a pair of roller skates later I made myself stop 🙄... for a short while. Whilst I waited for my purchases to arrive I planned the next set of patterns and in the meantime also typed up what I had done.

I admit I got carried away. She had more clothes than any doll could desire but she was lonely, oh so lonely so I bought her a friend...a Designafriend lol also with lovely blond hair.


Now I needed a Brunette and a redhead yes? Errr yes 😂.

And there they sit on my top shelf all dressed to the nines in their matching knitted outfits (they all get a set or they squabble lol). You are never too old to play with dolls. Shameless plug... the patterns are in my Etsy shop. The latest one is for two summer sundresses





105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page