top of page
Writer's pictureMachine Knitting Showcase

A Visit to Creswell Crags and a Witch Marks Knitting Inspiration

Updated: May 29, 2021




In January 2020 we visited Creswell Crags Museum and visitors centre and took a tour of the Witch Mark caves. I was so inspired by what we saw that I knew I had to get knitting.

Witch marks are most often inscribed on buildings. The markings are believed to have turned away evil, providing protection to the building and those who lived or worked within it. The evil that was being ‘turned away’ may have been demons, witches or the then ever present evil eye.

Creswell Crags, is a limestone gorge on the Nottinghamshire/Derbyshire border with history dating back 60,000 years and has the biggest collection of these marks in one place in the UK.



I started by graphing out the marks from some photographs we took in the caves and then many hours later after charting and punching out the card I knitted and laundered it only to find the word SPAM emblazoned across the fabric (can you see it? top row on the right). Back to the drawing board lol I re-did it and punched them out on another 24 stitch pattern repeat punch card for my KH860. The jacket is knitted in pure wool and then lightly felted. I have also knitted matching hats in fine 2 ply Lambswool with this pattern.




52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page