top of page
Writer's pictureMachine Knitting Showcase

I Knitted a Poem

In September 2019 I wrote a poem. I have NEVER done this before ever. It may have been the gin 😂. I don't know why I wrote it but as soon as I had I knew that I wanted to knit it. So, how do you go about knitting a poem?. I decided on a wall hanging and that I wanted it 3D. So I took a highlighter to my words and highlighted keywords that I wanted to knit.

The poem goes: I am rook I am Raven I am black eyed Crow I am maggot Pie chatter like the Devils spawn I am Jackdaw quarrel at the break of dawn.


I am mirror scry at the dark of moon I am distant music on forgotten roads I am Fae child spells in the icy woods I am winter coming wrapped in furry hoods.


I am icy breath lace in winters cold I am full moon howl in the other world I am shadow man peeping round your door I am creaking boards on your bedroom floor.


I am branch that holds up a singing bird I am leaf that carpets misleading paths I am tree that drums a systolic beat I am green as the moss beneath your feet


I am snow on the trees needles underfoot I am greenwood boughs on your open hearth I am cold in my heart, a winter wild I am bright as a point, a star born child I wanted a Crow, a Moon and some winter greenery. I worked out a crow sewing pattern from a free one online and quite a few tweaks on my part and transferred it to the knit leader. The crow was the first thing to knit in one piece for the body and the wings were done separately for the 3D effect. Stuffed with poly fibre and with two wired feet and beady eyes he sat in my work bucket patiently waiting for the rest of the work to finish. The moon was also drafted onto the knit leader and then hand embroidered with it's features. I knitted a big short row circle for it to be sewed to.

Winter greenery and a poinsettia were knitted up in leaves and petals and wired together. Finally it was all strung together onto a rough branch frame. It now takes pride of place in my summerhouse as my three Jack Russell's took an instant dislike to the crow 🤣

See the entire progress in pictures below.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page