top of page
Writer's pictureMachine Knitting Showcase

I Love my Gloves (and Mittens)

Last Christmas I fished out one of my old machines (Busch) and found a scrap of magazine paper in the case lining from an old pattern for gloves. It wasn't easy to read as it had been converted from hand knitting and was asking me to knit 2 together and yarn over, plus half of it was missing so I set out to re-write the pattern and simplify it for flat bed machines. In over 44 years of knitting I have never ever considered gloves. too complicated, too fiddly, I couldn't get my head round how they fit together. But I've sussed it. They're my new favourite thing and I've even typed the pattern out. Once made up I couldn't stop and I have knitted several pairs. This pattern has full fingers and thumb but could be shortened for fingerless.

I also found a fantastic hack for making your own glove blockers from an Ikea flexible plastic chopping sheet. These make all the difference to the finished product and are well worth making. They were very easy to make but be sure to buy a replacement sheet before you get the scissors out. Click on the glove blockers link to go to the off-site tutorial. Here's the gloves before and after blocking. As you can see, the fingers are perfectly flat and rounded. They present much better if your are going to sell them.

Click here for my FREE single bed standard gauge Glove pattern.

Keep checking back for my mitten pattern. I've just got to type it up and test knit it first. It is based on the glove pattern so if you are familiar with the gloves, the mittens are a *doddle. *noun INFORMAL•BRITISH 1. a very easy task 😉


836 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Jamie Mathis
Jamie Mathis
Jun 01, 2021

I'm going to try this pattern out soon. Great website!

Like
Machine Knitting Showcase
Machine Knitting Showcase
Jun 01, 2021
Replying to

Thank you Jamie. Let me know how you get on and shout up if you need any help 😊

Like
bottom of page