top of page
Writer's pictureMachine Knitting Showcase

Stash-Busting Cone Ends

I had a load of cone ends in 2 ply wool lurking in the bottom of my yarn stash. The stuff that you get in job lots... odd colours, old yarn. The kind of stuff you save because it might be useful one day. I also had a new (old) pattern book by Wendy Phillips called Festival of Flowers with some cool punch card patterns I wanted to try out. I got out my yarn winder and doubled up similar or complimentary colours into cakes and got going.

a picture of knitted sample swatches in flower patterns
An ever increasing pile of sample swatches

Standard gauge, stitch dial 9. 100 stitch / 120 row samples. All in the same weight yarn. After I had done a few I realised that it would make up into a lovely blanket. So every time I fancied knitting something small, I did a few swatches, washed them and added them to the pile.

I joined them on the machine and then knitted a border to sew on. The back is lined with 2 ply knitted into wide strips and sewn together. In my determination to use up ALL the cone ends I ended up with rather a lot of samples which made one large and two small reversible blankets and the remainder of the yarn was knitted into a multi colour blanket for our camping trips.


Then I went out and bought more yarn...as you do lol Can you spot the Zombie Pansies ?









66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page